GREEN DELAWARE ALERTS

ALERTS INDEX
1999 NEWS INDEX
1998 NEWS INDEX
PHOTO INDEX
HOME
JOIN US!!
LINKS
EVENTS

Alert #72

Support bill to end raw sewage dumping

The effort to clean up the Wilmington sewer overflows, a long-term priority of Green Delaware, is going well. Our bill to ban "Combined Sewer Overflows" in Delaware as of Jan 1, 2008 has broad support in the Delaware House of Representatives and among Senate Republicans. BUT, the bill is being boycotted by the Democratic Party members of the Delaware Senate.

Senator Patricia Blevins, who chaired a "CSO Task Force" (from which Green Delaware was excluded) apparently has asked her colleagues not to support the bill.

There are only about 6 legislative days remaining before the end of the140th Delaware General Assembly on June 30th. So, Green Delaware URGENTLY asks our members, friends and supporters to contact Senator Blevins, the other Democratic Senators, and (if not in this group) their own Senator and Representative. The message is simple: The General Assembly should PASS legislation banning Combined Sewer Overflows by Jan1, 2008

Thank you for your help!

The Senate Democrats are:

Senator Home Wilm. Office Leg. Hall Work Email
Patricia Blevins 994-4843 577-8542 739-4133 656.1697 pblevins@legis.state.de.us
Harris McDowell 656-2921 577-8744 739-4147 hmcdowell@legis.state.de.us
Margaret Henry 425-4148 577-8518 739-6891 mhenry@legis.state.de.us
Robert Marshall 656-7261 577-8744 739-4168 rmarshall@legis.state.de.us
David Sokola 239-2193 577-8542 739-4139 695-7366 dsokola@legis.state.de.us
Tom Sharp 994-0042 577-8744 739-4163 tsharp@legis.state.de.us
Anthony DeLuca 737-4929 577-8542 739-4165 adeluca@legis.state.de.us
David McBride 322-6100 577-8744 739-4167 dmcbride@legis.state.de.us
Jim Vaughn 653-4703 378-7900 739-4117 jvaughn@legis.state.de.us
Nancy Cook 653-8725 678-3734 739-4237 ncook@legis.state.de.us
Thurman Adams 337-7274 739-4117 tadams@legis.state.de.us
George Bunting 539-2229 739-4144 227-3891 gbunting@legis.state.de.us
Robert Venables 875-9559 739-4298

Look for more details in upcoming Green Delaware News. (C) Alan Muller

GO TO THE TOP

Let us know what you think. 

Email us at 

GreenDel@dca.net

or contact
Alan J. Muller, Exec. Director
P.O. Box 69
Port Penn, DE 19731
302-834-3466 Voice
302-836-3005 FAX 

Green Delaware is funded through membership dues, donations, and grants.
All work is done by volunteers and members including this website. 

This page was last updated on June20, 2000. 
****************

GO TO THE TOP